CrossFit Open 23.2

The live announcement took place on Februrary 23 on the official CrossFit Open website or Youtube live at 21:00 CET (Noon PT, 3 p.m. ET,  8 p.m. GMT, 7 a.m. AEDT).

If you want to know more about the 2023 NOBULL CrossFit Open, or simply want to review the important dates click here.

One week down, two to go! 23.2 was announced at CrossFit Bison in Midland Park, New Jersey. and was presented by Chipote. Second-Fittest Man on Earth Roman Khrennikov squared off against eight-time Games athlete Pat Vellner just moments after the workout is revealed by CrossFit legend, Rich Fronning Jr.

Stay up to date with the 2023 CrossFit Open.
Click here to check the leaderboard!

What is 23.2?

CrossFit HQ continues to surrprise the community with the announcement of 23.2. A test scored in two parts, 23.2 is the first time we see both shuttle runs and burpee pull-ups used in the Open.

23.2A & 23.2B

Complete as many reps as possible in 15 minutes of:
5 burpee pull-ups
10 shuttle runs (1 rep = 25 ft out/25 ft back)
*Add 5 burpee pull-ups after each round

23.2B:
Immediately following 23.2A, athletes will have 5 minutes to establish:
1-rep-max thruster (from the floor)

Rx:
♀ Burpee pull-ups, 50-ft shuttle run
♂ Burpee pull-ups, 50-ft shuttle run

For full workout details, Check out the official CrossFit website.

First Thoughts

Considering it's an open workout, 15 minutes is pretty long in the first part of this workout. The exercises are rather repetitive in that there's a high volume of pressing (in the form of burpees) and pulling (pull-ups). Even though your upper body gets a bit of a rest during the shuttle run, you can count on this exercise to get your heart rate jacked up.

Pacing Ideas

The most important thing in part A is to establish your rhythm and chip away at your pace until the 15 minutes are up. If you have great aerobic capacity and good and gymnastics, you can afford to go quicker from the start. On the other hand, if you know you're going to struggle with gymnastics, stay  slow and steady;  you don't want to start too hot go out then be left standing looking at the pull up bar.

Going into the second part, keep in mind that the transition can go by quickly so it's important to make sure that everything is set up and ready for your first 1-RM attempt.

Plan to go for at least three attempts for the thruster. For majority of people, it’s a good idea to start at around 60% of what their personal record.

The first attempt should take place around the one-minute mark. From there, give yourself time to rest between lifts. Increase weight aiming to get to 85-95% of 1RM. Here’s our recommendation on how to time 23.2B:

@0:00 – recover from 23.2A
@1:00 – first attempt
@2:00 – second attempt
@3:00 – third attempt
@4:30 – fourth attempt

Better safe than sorry! Click here to see the official standards and floor plan for 23.2.

Movement Guide

Warm Up
Get your energy system up and make sure that your movements feel smooth for the first part. Getting ready for the thruster, make sure you feel smooth and powerful. You should work up to your opening weight, but going much beyond that isn't necessary.

Burpee pull-ups
Stepping up on the burpee pull-up saves a lot of time without much more energy expenditure. This is the technique used by the professional athletes in the open announcement and we can see that it worked quite well. Be sure that you step to the line directly under the pull-up bar and then jump into the pull-up if your strong enough. Start with a jumping strict pull-up and switch to kipping when needed.

Shuttle run
Adapt a steady pace that keeps you moving. Use arms to set the cadence and keep hips high when touching the floor.

Review all the official material, warm up, and get after it. Don't forget to submit your scores before 27 February at 17:00 PT (or 28 February at 1:00 GMT).

Just one more test of fitness left. If there's anything we can be sure of for 23.3, it's that it'll be spicy.